DevRetro 2022 -Little Tech Journey Of Mine

DevRetro 2022 -Little Tech Journey Of Mine

This Is Probably 4 months Safari

Introduction

Hello there !!! Hope you're doing well if not you get well soon! My name is MalaviPande final year undergraduate student from the electronics department. Coming to my tech stack I just only familiar with a few technologies with this perception I consider myself very proud I still carry the same feeling till my final year. I always aim for Good Paying Jobs as of that I started learning all the required knowledge to ace the placements from my first year.

Small wrap of 3 and half years Of B.Tech

As I have a great thirst for things like a job, becoming financially independent, and standing out of the crowd. I always spend most of my time learning things. I asked most of my seniors about the recruitment process of companies they place like TCS, Wipro, TechMahindra etc., and everyone end up saying the conventional recruitment process

  1. Written Test

  2. Technical Test

  3. HR

So, I thought this was the process for every company there is nothing more than this meanwhile, I started learning aptitude, reasoning, verbal, and coding. Whenever I get any free time I used to spend most of the time doing aptitude by allocating hours and hours.

Turning Point

All seniors of mine got placed in conventional software companies that we were all familiar with, But one person make his way by placing Oslash with high pay than anyone. As he was one of my LinkedIn connections I immediately rushed to the site and start asking "What is the recruitment process that you go through in Oslash his answer kickoff all my misconceptions about the recruitment process. In this conversation, he suggested Kunal Kushwaha's YT channel for DSA. At first, I thought it was a normal DSA playlist but later I got pop-ups of his previous videos on his channels. So started watching them one by one while viewing I got some sense of reality. This suggestion leads to a lot of changes as a person.

Thanks To Chiranjeevi Tirunagari

My Actual Journey

HacktoberFest-2022(Open Source Contribution)

When it comes to real-world things like contribution, and development, in October because I decided to participate in HacktoberFest a month-long celebration run by DigitalOcean to celebrate and give back to open-source projects and software. Before starting this I have a lot of self-doubts about the contribution I have to learn the entire GitHub environment to participate, shall I make at least one PRs by the end of the contest, through social media, I got a lot of support, and I reached a few amazing people who Arindam Majumder make so much effort to make things understand very easily. Through this flow, I successfully make 7 PR's to the repository.

Things I learned

  1. Got a chance to understand the workflow of Git and GitHub.

  2. How to make PR to the particular repository.

  3. Most importantly the file arrangement of GitHub.

  4. How to raise issues.

  5. How to set the projects in our local environment, forking, cloning.

Challenges I Face

  1. At the start, the main page itself was not even understandable but by slowly things make sense.

  2. It took me a lot of time to understand the terms like contribution, pull request, merging, and a lot more.

Started 100 Days Of Coding Challenge!

First I came to know this by scrolling through LinkedIn posts, and I started searching why they are doing this for a particular number of days, So I ended up knowing a lot of benefits from this meanwhile I also decided to take this initiative. Frankly, for up to 20 days, it was cool but as the days passed it was very hard for me to maintain consistency and so it was even hard for me when I have semester examinations. During the semester examination times, I decided to stop this for a while but after I thought if I did like this there is no meaning to the challenge. So, in that time I managed to complete at least one easy problem, unlike nothing.

Things I learned

  1. I started trying to be consistent in my work.

  2. It increased my commitment to the challenge.

  3. It keeps the track of the things that I want to do.

Challenges I Face

  1. As human beings, we have to go through a lot of situations, so there are some days we don't want to do anything but as I committed to the challenge I have to complete it at any cost probably it is a test of my mental health.

  2. During the examination time, It was very hard to manage all these things.

Blog Writing

once I heard that writing a blog on something we learn can improve our communication skills. So, I decided to start writing blogs occasionally on something I am interested in. For that, I started reading blogs from various blogging platforms like hashnode, medium. Slowly I started writing blogs too. I spend almost 3 days writing my first blog.

Things I Learn

  1. As we lay down our thought in the form of words it increased my thought process.

  2. Right now I am good at making sentences I guess.

Challenges I Face

  1. As I was self doubted person even though my blog is good I faced a lot of fear to publish my first blog.

  2. At the start, I took a lot of time to make good sentences.

  3. I have assumptions that blogs are only written by big tech experts, they only have to write, it requires lot of knowledge to do things like this.

Learning & Building In Public

I came to know this because of Kunal Kushwaha's YT channel one of his video told us to share what we did, learn, and attended events on a particular day and it keeps the track of consistency. Initially, I had a bad opinion of this initiative for example if I start sharing all my learnings people thought that she is showing off her work, meanwhile, I think it is a time waste process, lastly, As I don't even share my learning with friends then how can I even share in huge public platforms?

Things I Learn

  1. Through this, I met a lot of amazing like-minded folks.

  2. I started involving in the communities on Twitter, and Discord.

  3. I started to be open-mind while sharing.

  4. The major thing is if you are genuine in your words people always welcome you heartily.

  5. I get some sense of achievement while sharing my daily learning. it acts as a boost to the next work.

  6. I came across many learning plateforms while asking questions in public than making DM's

Challenges I Face

  1. If I see someone's post doing great things than me, I felt somewhat low but later I started trying to reach them.

  2. While interacting on Twitter I get a lot of negativity from a few folks in the initial days.

  3. Maybe from this initiative challenges I face are very less, but I experienced a lot of things to survive on the social media platform.

All about Twitter Spaces & Events

Another amazing thing is twitter spaces Frankly, I think Twitter is a platform for politicians and movie industries. But after exploring tech Twitter I was surprised by the people's work, How they are hustling to reach their goals, and How communities are so supportive to help newbies, & I got a chance to learn about those who already did this.

Things I learn

  1. As a newbie, I thought that it was very difficult to reach out to the people I follow, But through Twitter spaces, I got a chance to be part of their spaces

  2. I started to be open mind while learning.

  3. Do appreciate Get appreciation, and learn from each other things like that.

  4. Came across amazing supportive people as a friend.

  5. I started speaking in spaces to overcome my fear of public speaking.

Challenges I Face

  1. The speakers almost in all spaces I attend are from outside India, In the initial days it was very hard for me to understand their accents.

  2. While speaking in the space I felt very fearful, One thing always revolves around my mind is if I do speak wrongly people start laughing at me. But unlike this, the speakers are so welcoming they support us a lot in speaking if you're not so good at English.

Conclusion

Openly speaking before all these things I notion that I am working very hard than anyone, I am proud to be myself very well, But reaching these many people & watching their hustling my work is not even 1% when compared to their efforts. I learned plenty of things rather than above mention but the above are the major ones. Probably 2022 is a very special year I just explored so many things over 4 months. I try out so many technologies and learned many things while trying those. I also started web development & managed to make small projects also.

I reached all of these things in my last days of graduation I sometimes regrate myself, by saying if I know came to know in the initials days of my B. tech I do and learn even more than this. But feel very fortunate that even in the last few days I got a chance to explore all these.

So, that's it this is the wrap of 4 months of 2022 hope you get something out of it, Feel free to comment Do share how it is below. If you find it useful Do follow me and share it on social. Thank you for the read & time !!!!!!

Twitter(MalaviPande)

LinkedIn(Malavi Pande)

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Malavi Pande by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!