How learning In Public Shapes One's  Journey

How learning In Public Shapes One's Journey

My Experience of Building In Public

Introduction

If you are very new to these terms like learning in public and building in public for the first time I am promising that you will miss the true message behind this wonderful initiative followed by many big tech experts. Basically as of my knowledge, this initiative is nothing but that we have to post or share what we are learning on social media platforms mostly on LinkedIn and Twitter.

My First Reaction :(Misconceptions)

when I first heard about this I thought it was not mean to me. I started thinking like

  1. Nothing bothers someone if I post like that.

  2. If I do something wrong people make fun of me in front the so many people.

  3. More diplomatically I convince myself by saying instead of wasting your time writing what you did on a particular day you can utilize that time to do something productive.

  4. My learnings are all my own business, Why should I share with unknown people?

  5. If I start asking something in public if it was basic things rest of the people start looking at me low.

  6. I thought it was like showing off something small to the world very proudly.

  7. since I take one of my favorite quotes very seriously i.e, "Work Hard In Silence Make You Success Violence" it took me so much time to dilute this concept.

My initial Days

In addition to this as I was a very introverted person, in the starting I take it as very lite. Because in college I don't even suppose to share my learning with my friends at least, so in this case how can I post my daily learning on a huge social media platform? With a lot of courage, I decide to be in the initiative, I followed those who are taking part in the initiative. Just make sure how to post something in a conducive and constructive way. After observing the culture I started my #100daysofcodingchallenge mean while I started posting my day-to-day learning on Linkedin. In the beginning I just more focus on LinkedIn rather than Twitter. After a few recommendations, I started switching to Twitter posts. Because Linkedin is a bit of spam, It is not effective as Twitter. By slowly I started adding my fronted development, DevOps too.

Benefits That I Enjoyed

  1. It encourages us to do more than usual.

  2. We can get a lot from the community and followers and the people that we are following.

  3. Most importantly get a chance to meet like-minded people. In this way, I reached out to a lot of amazing people and communities.

  4. Here is my favorite part, We can get a high chance of replies not only from a particular person but also from persons who are familiar with that particular domain.

  5. If you get stuck, by DM you can probably get one or 2 solutions, But in the other case if you post the same thing in the public we can get as many solutions as possible.

  6. As we are posting in the public it builds a track for "Consistency".

  7. As we are representing our thoughts it increases our narrative skills.

Opportunities

The concept of learning in public is two-way communication. I thought I am the only one posting content on social media daily, but the truth is in this initiative people from around the world also share everything useful like tech events, twitter spaces that they are going to attend, and new technologies that are right now in the market, discussions in that new technology, the best part is twitter Threads, we also get chance to speak in the space connect with amazing tech giants.

Conclusion

Before all these things I assume twitter was an ordinary social media platform like Instagram, Facebook etc., but I came to know another side of Twitter by this only. Seriously heard about this as a platform for politicians, movie industries etc., and it blew my mind completely, from this I learned that everything is the same but it makes a difference by how we are using that effectively.

Thank you for the reading Do share your thoughts in the comment session below, It would help me a lot to move forward.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Malavi Pande by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!