My Gsoc 20 Days Opinion

My Gsoc 20 Days Opinion

It Is Just A 20 Days Journey Of Mine With The Org. I Choose

Welcome, all to read this amazing blog of mine. Just kidding so I decided to do something weird to write a blog on what I did while trying for Gsoc. Wait !! you said something weird but it looks pretty normal that everyone does in their Gsoc period. In my opinion, they are doing this after the successful completion of the project and I decided to write something every day I did for the Gsoc.

Investigation

Before this, I do read a lot of blogs on Gsoc and watched 100+ videos on Gsoc but they are trying to explain things commonly by saying according to my tech stack I just reached the org. and I propose my idea, the community is too kind and a lot more.

But in my opinion, there is something that will happen in this period and this period is the most crucial of my experience and this is most important for newbies and no one highlighting this. So, in this blog journey, I DO try to cover all the things that I did while striving for Gsoc.

My Bad !!!

While looking for the org. to proceed with my Gsoc journey I DO choose 2 org. as of my interest and tech stack. If everything went smoothly and well we didn't call it a journey right? The same thing happened to me as well. Like everyone did I decided to reach them through their respective communication channel.

The worst thing is one of the org. didn't have any active channels I make a mail for this but didn't get any response and one has Zulip but is not so active. The story begins here.

The Decision

One fine day I came across a YT video It is just random no searching. But one thing that attracted me is the thumbnail caption "The most REAL video". In this way, I saw the entire video and fell in love with the idea behind that video.

His video was somehow satisfactory to me because I have the same thought about "Documenting one journey" But it is also reasonable that no one even writes or takes a video of the entire journey of something they are doing even though they did no one is trying to read or see their entire shit.

At one point in time, I got a thought i.e., Why should I make try to that Youbuter org. With this, I joined their slack channel.

But wrapping up their journey into video or blog is not as good and writing and capturing their entire Gsoc days is also impossible. I decided to do it in between this.

At that time I came across this Idea not so unique but somewhat helpful. I decided to write a blog weekly or twice a week on what I did, and things that happen in that particular week. I thought it is effective and should help a lot of newbies try to get to know the actual Gsoc process.

The Patience Test Begin

At the start, I thought Git plays a major role if you know how to handle GitHub and an environment. Yes, it is a partially agreed statement but not really. If you want to contribute to the org. there are a lot more things you have to download and learn instead of using git and Git Hub.

After introducing myself to the community I got a good response from them with this I decided to proceed with this org. At first, I decided to set up the project on my local system. As for my GitHub knowledge, I have great confidence that everything is possible with git. When seeing the setup.MD file there are lot and lot of things written and the entire page was filled up with an unknown language. I didn't even familiar with and at least didn't hear the things before.

But the good thing is they arranged a list of the tools to be installed to set up the project. As a downloaded lover, I started installing all of them and I faced a few issues on clicking the download button even !!

I send a screenshot of that to the community they replied to me well. But today at around 10 AM while installing PostgreSQL I need to choose an application to install, I posted the screenshot and asked which one DO I choose right now the time is 10:44 PM I didn't get any response.

The worst part of this is one guy posted about his doubt about something I asked before him but they don't even care about my issue. After watching the entire scenario I sent the problem screenshot to the maintainer directly. But my bad there is no response.

Parallel I decided to work on some good first issues so, while searching I found that all of them are assigned to someone.

Finally, I am still in the project setting up process only. I am very curious about how such a big project can work on my PC. Let's check that out.

Things I Learned In This 20 Day

  1. It was a patience test, One day you will get a good and speedy response from the maintainers, but another day no one even cares about it.

  2. Be balanced when I came across this org. I felt extremely happy saying I found a good org. but if their response is late I started self doubted by asking myself a lot of questions.

  3. Helping each other in addition to maintainer I got some good responses from the contributors like me when I get STUCK.

  4. How to ask for help I came to know about this because of community members in that slack channel. Because it decides the response from the other person.

  5. It is not as easy as a contribution reading the readme file is so good and easy but the actual struggle starts when I decided to setup.

Conclusion

This is the wrap of 20 days of my GSoC journey, hope I didn't miss anything. If you find this blog useful DO share others can also benefits. Feel very free to share thoughts regarding this.

This is the quote that we need to follow while doing contributions "contributing to an open-source project is not so easy and also not so impossible all we need is a little bit of patience and hard work."

But one thing I seriously tell is Because of these 20 days I came to know a few unknown things like why Ruby, PostgreSQL, Yarn, npm. Here is another thing I just want to highlight "I make myself clear only by what and why all these technologies but I didn't start working."

Thank you for the time Dear readers.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Malavi Pande by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!