Soft Skills I Acquired

Soft Skills I Acquired

If you are a person new to the tech industry then everyone these days shouting and posting a lot about things by tagging words like #learninginpublic #buildinginpublic #communities at the same time if you are the person seeing everything and wondering how involving developer communities, servers, and groups can change or improves the personality of the person both orally and technically.???

Then this is a great time to read my blog about my experience. The main motto of this blog is not to show my achievement, or success after involving the communities but how such small starts can really make a large impact.so, let's get started.

These days technical skills can be acquired by anybody but when it comes to soft skills the case is different also we need a little more effort at least to be an average person.

The whole blog will be like before involving communities and after involving communities. Because communities play a major role to emhance my soft skills a lot.

1.Communication

I have the art of making friends easily everywhere I too somehow good at communication but when it comes to speaking in English I pull my leg back as it is "ENGLISH" In general I too have a few assumptions like people gonna judge, they will make fun.

How do I develop & Techniques?

  1. Have a great start and be open.

  2. Do not get fear? (Just remember the other person you talking also human in the worst case what will happen to he/she will judge that's it right!? )

  3. Start writing blogs/articles on socials.

  4. Maintain a personal diary write about the things you want to do in the morning and things you did a the end of the day.

  5. While travelling have a conversation with fellow travellers instead of scrolling/slacking around the socials.

2.Public Speaking

I have a great desire to speak English fluently in public but fear always pulls me back. After attending a few Twitter spaces & community events I realized my English talking skills are not that much bad but in order to improve I have to involve in the conversation.

How do I develop & Techniques?

  1. If you have a doubt do try to grab the mic.

Remember don't make a discusstion for the sake of discusstion if you don't have anything to talk just be like listener section.

  1. Do practice speaking in front of a mirror or by recording the video.

  2. Attend Twitter space & involve in Community events.

  3. Connect with people & Request small coffee chats.

  4. If a person reaches out to you utilize the opportunity & have a VC if possible.

  5. If you get the chance to speak or if the host lets you speak do try to make the most of it.

2.Time Management

At the start, I was only into learning & only posting my progress but after starting my blog journey & being a part of a core team member of one of the developer communities along with my side hustles I was really get burn out. That's when I realized I need to do something to get rid of this.

How do I develop & Techniques?

  1. Prioritize everything properly.

  2. Personally, I used to follow Pomodoro's time management technique. It worked well for me after getting some confidence I stop using this.

  3. Schedule tomorrow before going to bed.

  4. Don't get disheartened if you're not making the most of your time.

  5. Don't try to follow others' timing schedules do make a unique as of your convenience.

3.Empathetic

In the initial days of my development, I was super curious, eager to learn & get a lot of doubts with that I reach out to a lot of people to clear my doubts, questions & everything. But their response is so late sometimes they couldn't even see. I feel like how they ignore someone like that.

How do I develop & Techniques?

  1. Just respect their time also.

  2. Don't stick & wait for that one person's response do try other ways (research, reach another person if possible)

  3. Remember they also have their own life.

5.Networking

It is one of the greatest skills to make new like-minded friends, meet industry experts, & get opportunities.

How do I develop & Techniques?

  1. By attending conferences & meetups.

  2. Participating in hackathons & involving in the conversation.

  3. In socials sometimes we need to have a personalized note on why you want to connect with that person. Have a short & impressive note always

  4. Do hesitate to start a discussion.

6.Positive Attitude & Sportiveness

In this competitive world, it's hard to be with a positive attitude and be in a very calm environment. I was also one of the victims of the comparison where I used to compare myself with so many people and feel like I was nothing sometimes.

How do I develop & Tehcniques?

  1. Stop comparing yourself with others. Focus on the progress that you are making each day.

  2. Don't let the controversy impact you.

  3. Just embrace small achievements.

  4. Do support others(Comment on other people's posts, encourage them with the words)

  5. Don't rely on the results too much.

I just want to highlight one thing i.e.," Tech Communities or Developer Communities" because they showed me an entirely different world where people are striving for learning, thirst for everything & a very healthy world of competition.

I was super glad to be a part of the communities I was involved and to add value to my knowledge. So, do join them & you are not gonna lose anything rather you will definitely have a great experience.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Malavi Pande by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!