50% of 2023

50% of 2023

Brag Journal

Who Am I?

I recently graduated and I was into Tech things like development, community, Open Source, and Blogging for the last 7-8 months before this I had a thirst for getting a good high-paying job in my college days.

So, whenever I ask my seniors regarding guidance they only suggest DO CODING, and PRACTICE CODING but no one even tells how important the development is until I started my Open Source journey with HacktoberFest

Yes, Even though it was only one month program the people I met and the connections I built made me realise there is something outside happening that I am unaware of.

With this curiosity, I joined communities, and Twitter started blogging and started getting great support for my work from people I never met this sudden change brought me into the real world of software development.

With this, I am here to share half of the year's experience I had. Things I learned, Achievements, and even rejections I face. So, without any detain let's get in.

50% = 25% + 25%

I am not explaining any complex mathematics even though I was too weak in that 😁. The only thing I am trying to convey is I just divided the 6 months into 2 halves.

For the first half, I wrote a detailed blog on the new things I tried, and lessons I learned and even how the "Imposter Syndrome" kicked me without any concern as a beginner.

Give it a read 👇

25% of 2023 [First 3 months]

25%(The Multitasking Era)

In this, I just wrap up the whole thing in a short manner.

The perfect title for the first 3 months is the multitasking era. So, the main reason behind this is I am just worried about the things I have to complete. From the introduction you get to know that I was extremely too late and I just came across these kinds of things when I was about to graduate.

I thought I have to work very hard as I have very little amount of time. So, I started a lot of things like DSA, Open source, and Even Gsoc proposal as I was in the final year and had that placement pressure.

1. GSoC proposal

The first goal started with this and it was one of the things I wanted to achieve when I came across the opportunities in OS.

After a lot of research, I pick a project and started contributing. So, with my knowledge and experience, I tried my level best to fit in that community and had a great experience with the community members.

2.Leetcode Streak

Meanwhile, I thought to be in touch with DSA to be at least consistent I decided to maintain a streak.

But my bad whenever I came across a problem statement with the DSA concept I never know I see the solutions of others and understand that particular problem and finish that day like this.

Again I realized this is not the way to learn DSA anymore and I QUITE.

3.Web Development

The very next day I started my #16daysofprojectchallenge

While scrolling I came up with a YT thumb line banner with 16 projects with HTML, CSS and JavaScript. I decided to give it a try. I announced to all my socials that I am going to start this. After 5 days mean when I was on my 5th project the organization announced its project list 🥲.

I decide to quit again.🫣from the project challenge I started.

I completely focus on writing a proposal.

4.Campus Placement

This is the most important part for any undergraduate final-year student. After attending a few most of them being call centre and business-related 3rd part vendors jobs. I completely boycott the placement notification.

By all these self-doubts I kept working on things I wanted. I successfully submitted the proposal at the end of this month.

🤔Is Multitasking ❌or ✅

People have different opinions on this and it works out for a few people and it won't even be possible for someone to manage even 2 tracks of learning. Again it is subjective I often think like another person also has the same 24 hours but they are managing daily to stay focused on more than 2 tasks.

So, I asked a few people about how they are managing their time to cope with all the things that I observed

  1. Initially, they also not started multitasking as time pass they started adjusting their hours productively. Again we have to practice that.

  2. A few people have flexible college hours(4-5 hours of classes).

  3. Their college is super good enough to teach.

  4. The environment they are working in. Most people neglect it has a huge impact on work.

  5. A few of them are college dropouts.

In the flow, we don't even think of all the tiny factors that help them to multitask. But we only see the result they are producing and start comparing ourselves with them and start blaming the capability we have.

The lesson I learned

In the FAMO tech world, it's very easy to blame ourselves for not getting things done on our way.

After self-esteem, I understood the problem I have.

  1. I was worrying about the people around me by saying they are doing amazing work.

  2. If I start involve in all those there is no use at all and a lot of people ahead of me.

  3. Even if I start now I am not gonna achieve anything.

But one thing always pushes me is EVEN I START.

I started accepting the position I have and feel super fortunate by saying I am far better than people who don't even know all these kinds of things.

Compare yourself to who you were yesterday, not to who someone else is today.

So, these are things that I tried out over the last 3 months yeah it seems super messy with a lot of self-doubts and confusion but I am super fortunate that I realized and analyzed the mistakes I did.

25% (Realization Era)

Core Team Member (DevsInTech)

My April month starts with this. Communities place a vital role in growing as an individual after seeing the DevsInTech requirement announcement for content creators I immediately applied for it.

In my selection process, the blogs I wrote helped me to get selected so, I understand the importance of proof of work.

Gsoc Rejection

Getting into the Gsoc is one of the things I really wanted meanwhile did a lot of work to get selected. I am pretty sure regarding my selection. But things went out of scope I got rejection mail.

At first, I was devastated but I really wanted to know the reason and in this way, I ask my mentor his feedback and encouragement boosted me a lot.

I wrote a detailed blog with an analysis of why I got rejection. Do check that out 👇

GSoC Proposal Rejection

But after realizing from where I came from I feel super proud I even finished the proposal writing without much experience in open source.

4C Lightening Talk

This is one of the events initiated by the 4C community where we get the chance to give a presentation on the chosen topics within a certain time limit.

I decided to give it a try and filled out the form. fortunately, I get the chance even more happiest thing is I was the winner of the first talk.

This participation gave me a lot of confidence in public speaking and presentation skills.

Twitter Space talk & host.

The above talk I mentioned really gave a confidence and rise a question in my mind like I have to even improve it. In this way, I started talking in Twitter space and the amazing thing is I recently hosted a small Twitter space it went super well.

Things I learned

Don't expect🙂

It's had to do because if we work hard for something we definitely expect something. But who knows there is another person who really works harder than you.

So, just do our work and let the god decide result if we are on the list then good if not also good. It's not at all a magical change that has to happen suddenly but little by little try to adopt this nature.

Don't compare.🤫

Comparison is one of the BEST & WORST things. If you are involved in the communities or super active on socials you often feel motivated and demotivated by seeing the people amazing things.

The best takeaway is to take it try to be sportive and congratulate the people on success and let them congratulate you when you succeed.

Don't RUSH🏃‍♀️

While learning web development I had the super curiosity to try REACT framework but before that, I was still not fine in javascript and that too JS is weird it took me a lot of my to get the confidence to switch.

But out of temptation after getting the basics done in JS I immediately rushed into REACT and with the same immediate temptation I came back after understanding the importance of fundaments

Conclusion

In this way, my journey still going yeah, a lot of self-doubts, achievements, and rejections. On this journey, I will even be an inspiring person for some people and they will DM me for things I am doing and while receiving appreciation like this it even uplifts us a lot.

So, that's it this is the wrap of 6 months of 2023 hope you get something out of it, Feel free to comment Do share how it is below. If you find it useful Do follow me and share it on social. Thank you for the read & time !!!!!!

Twitter

LinkedIn

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Malavi Pande by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!